External Student Representation

Purdue University Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is comprised of ten voting members, including one student, and is currently chaired by Mike Berghoff. Three of the members are chosen by the Purdue Alumni Association, while the rest are appointed by the Governor of Indiana. The Board is the official governing body of the University; thus, all major decisions, from expansions to budgeting, come through the Board. They meet on a bi-monthly basis, and the Student Body President often delivers reports at their meetings.

We are fortunate to have a student serve on the Board as a full voting member. The Student Trustee is appointed to a two-year term starting July 1st by the Governor of Indiana. If you are interested in becoming the next Student Trustee, you will need to submit an application to the search committee, chaired by Vice President Jacob Goedde, who will send the top ten candidates to the Governor’s office for appointment.

Currently, Cameron Mann is our student trustee, serving from 2015 to 2017. For more information about her or any of the other Trustees, please visit their website at www.purdue.edu/bot/.

If you are interested in serving in a position like this beginning in Summer 2017, please contact our Student Body Vice President.

Student Trustee – Cameron Mann – mann19@purdue.edu


Purdue University Faculty Senate – Student Representatives

Comprised of 100 members, mostly faculty, the University Senate is essentially the faculty version of our Student Senate. They too pass bills and resolutions; however, their bills actually change University policy (absences, grades, exams, etc.). Their resolutions are recommendations to the University like ours. All of their legislation requires one reading for discussion and another for voting. They meet once a month, with additional committee meetings. All PSG Senators serve on at least one University Senate committee to provide input from the student perspective. Please contact is a list of the committees and their student members.

Undergraduate Student Representative – Geri Denger – gdenger@purdue.edu


Association of B1G Ten Students

The Association of Big Ten Students (ABTS) connects all of the student governments in the Big Ten conference. They create a platform of common goals and lobby for these goals at the federal level. ABTS holds two big conferences a year, in the summer and winter, where the location rotates among the participating schools. The 2017 Winter Conference will be held at The Ohio State University during February 3rd to 5th. Aside from conferences, ABTS meets in Washington, D.C., in the spring for Big Ten on the Hill. For more information, visit their website at www.abts10.org, like ABTS on Facebook, or follow @ABTS10 on Twitter.

Purdue University’s ABTS Liaison – Donnie Spencer – spence64@purdue.edu


West Lafayette City Council

The City Council meets the first Monday of the month at 6:30 p.m. in the multi-purpose room at Morton Community Center (222 N. Chauncey Ave., West Lafayette). The Pre-Council meeting — in which the members discuss the agenda (including unfinished and new business) — occurs the Thursday before the council session and is also held in the multi-purpose room of Morton Community Center. The public is welcome to attend all meetings of the Council.

District 03 Representative – Aseem Jha – ajha@westlafayette.in.gov